Wed, 06 July 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Bangladesh bowls first in 1st ODI against Afghans

Update : 23 Feb 2022, 11:48

Afghanistan captain Hasmatullah Shahidi decided to bat first after winning the toss against Bangladesh in the first of three-match ODI series today at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

The Afghans came up in the match with six straight wins although they played just two bilateral series in the last one year.

All of these wins of Afghanistan came against Ireland and Netherlands.

Bangladesh is playing their first ODI series in this year, handed debut to Yasir Ali, who had an impressive performance in the Bangladesh Premier League.

Wicket-keeper batter Mushfiqur Rahim is also back after missing Bangladesh's last ODI series against Zimbabwe in last July.

Bangladesh is second in the ICC ODI Super League while Afghanistan is in sixth position.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Yasir Ali, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicket-keeper), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Yamin Ahmadzai, Fazalhaq Farooqi

More on this topic

IOC boss Bach says Ukraine 'flag will fly high' at Olympics

Persistent rain washes out Tigers 1st T20 against Windies

Ton-up Pant turns the tables on England

We should focus on hitting fours instead of sixes in T20s: Siddons

More on this topic

West Indies announce T20I, ODI squad against Tigers

Eoin Morgan set to retire from international cricket

Serena returns at Wimbledon as Nadal eyes next leg of Slam

Nadal says pain-free for first time in 'year and half'