Sat, 02 July 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

BCCI Announce New Rules For IPL 2022

Update : 26 Feb 2022, 11:55

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 season will begin from March 26 and run till May 29. The tournament will be held entirely in the state of Maharashtra with 55 matches in Mumbai and 15 matches in Pune. 

The IPL Governing Council, in a meeting on Friday said that the 15th edition of the IPL will be played in a bio-secure environment at a single hub to avoid air travel, considered as a major threat for the spread of COVID-19 infection, thereby affecting the players and tournament. 

BCCI re-introduces the IPL 2011 playing format after confirming that IPL 2022 will be played with 10 teams in total. A total of 74 matches will be played including 4 playoff matches.

The 8 teams will play 60 matches in total where each team will play 14 league matches each, they will face each team twice in the league match.

Playing 14 league matches the teams will play a total of 7 matches in their home ground and others in an away ground (which may be the home ground of the opponent team). After introducing an additional 2 teams in the tournament having the home ground comfort seems to be a bit difficult.

The BCCI announced on Friday that the 10 IPL teams will play 14 league matches each, with all of them playing five teams twice and the remaining four teams just once.

Each team will play twice with the teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the other group. With the remaining four teams in the other group, they will play only once during the season.

Based on that metric, Mumbai Indians top the list, followed by Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders. Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals, with their title wins, round up the top five.

Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings along with the two new franchises Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants make up the bottom half of the order.

The BCCI has then used the formula of twos and divided the franchises into Group A and Group B.

Mumbai Indians are in Group A while Chennai are in Group B, KKR in Group A and SRH in Group B.

Each of the five teams in Group A and Group B will face each other twice this season. They will also face four teams from the other group once. However, and this is the kicker, they will face the team in the same position as them in the other group - twice.

For example, Group A's Mumbai Indians will play KKR, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants twice this season. They will then place Sunrisers Hyderabad, RCB, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans once. Chennai Super Kings, who are hold the corresponding position in Group B will, will play Mumbai Indians twice.

And that is how each team will reach the magic number of 14 league stage matches this season.

As has been the structure of the playoffs, there will continue to be 4 matches, with the final scheduled for 29 May, 2022.



More on this topic

Ton-up Pant turns the tables on England

We should focus on hitting fours instead of sixes in T20s: Siddons

West Indies announce T20I, ODI squad against Tigers

Eoin Morgan set to retire from international cricket

More on this topic

Serena returns at Wimbledon as Nadal eyes next leg of Slam

Nadal says pain-free for first time in 'year and half'

Bangladesh reach 77-2 at lunch

Fifa increases squads to 26 players for 2022 World Cup