Tue, 28 June 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Bangladesh faces S Africa today to clinch series

Update : 23 Mar 2022, 12:55

Bangladesh will face South Africa today (March 23) in the third ODI of the three-match ODI series which turned out to be a series-deciding match. The match will be started at 5 pm (BD time) at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

The series is now locked at 1-1 after Bangladesh won the first match by 38 runs, which was the first victory on South Africa soil, snapping a 19-match losing streak before the hosts bounced back in style to beat the Tigers by seven wickets.

Led by Tamim Iqbal, Bangladesh started their ODI sojourn on a resounding note after winning the first game by 38 runs at SuperSport Park. Ace allrounder Shakib Al Hasan's tremendous 64-ball 77 runs knock, along with Mehidy Hasan Miraz and others helped the Tigers secure their maiden win in South Africa.

The visitors will be back in Centurion again for the series-deciding match and it is another source of motivation for them. They got the Centurion pitch particularly to their likings as the bounce was even but Wanderers pitch in second ODI offered uneven bounce, according to Bangladesh skipper Tamim Iqbal.

Tamim hopes for the best as he refused to give up the hopes of making the ODI series a memorable one on South African soil.

Despite the defeat in the second game, Bangladesh are unlikely to bring any change to the squad and if so, they will play six straight matches with the same squad.

On the other hand, South Africa made a stunning comeback in the next ODI and won the game by 7 wickets. Kagiso Rabada starred with the ball for South Africa as he picked five wickets for just 39 runs in 10 overs. An unbeaten 58-run knock off 77 balls from Kyle Verreynne and 52-ball 37 from Temba Bavuma meant South Africa chased down the score with 7 wickets in hand. 

The two teams played 24 matches so far in ODI format with South Africa winning 18. Bangladesh won just five matches and one match was washed out.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Syed Khaled Ahmed.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), Keshav Maharaj (vice-capt), Quinton de Kock (wk), Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne. 

More on this topic

Serena returns at Wimbledon as Nadal eyes next leg of Slam

Nadal says pain-free for first time in 'year and half'

Bangladesh reach 77-2 at lunch

Fifa increases squads to 26 players for 2022 World Cup

More on this topic

Lisa Stalker elected president of the Federation of International Cricketers’ Association

Sheikh Russel KC earn fourth win in BPL

South Korea to bid to host Asian Cup

Bangladesh staring at defeat against West Indies inside 3 days