Thu, 07 July 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Bangladesh finish runners-up in SAFF U-18 Women's Championship

Update : 26 Mar 2022, 10:10

Despite winning the last match against host India, Bangladesh women's football team did not retain the title as they finished runners-up after winning a 1-0 goal over India in the SAFF U-18 Women's Championship held on March 25 at JRD Tata Sports Complex in Jamshedpur.

Bangladesh and India have won three out of four matches. Both teams lost one match each. Both teams have equal nine points. Both teams have won head-to-head match, 1-0. That is why India is the champions in goal difference. India's goal average is +11 and Bangladesh is +3, reports BSS.

After the barren first half, Aklima finally broke the deadlock scoring the all-important goal for Bangladesh in the 73rd minute of the match.
Bangladesh got several scoring chances in the second half but could not increase the goal margin lacks of proper finishing.

Earlier, Bangladesh got off to a winning start in the championship beating Nepal by 4-2 goals in their championship opening match, but suffered a fighting 0-1 defeat to host India in their second match and defeat Nepal by 2-1 goals in their return match.

While India thrashed Nepal by 7-0 drubbing, defeated Bangladesh by 1-0 goal and overpowered Nepal by 5-1 goals in their return match.

Bangladesh U-18 team - Rupna Chakma, Yasmin Akther, Etie Rani, Afeida Khandaker, Kohati Kisku, Shamsunnahar, Sohagi Kisku, Mst Eity Khatun, Nasrin Akter, Aanika Tanjum, Mst Joynob Bibi Rita, Mst Halima Akther, Rehena Akther, Sapna Rani, Mahfuza Khatun, Nouson Jahan, Shaheda Akter Ripa, Aklima Khatun, Surma Jannat, Unnoti Khatun, Lutfora Akter Lima, Nabiran Khatun and Miss Rupa.

More on this topic

Bangladesh to tour Zimbabwe for limited over series

IOC boss Bach says Ukraine 'flag will fly high' at Olympics

Persistent rain washes out Tigers 1st T20 against Windies

Ton-up Pant turns the tables on England

More on this topic

We should focus on hitting fours instead of sixes in T20s: Siddons

West Indies announce T20I, ODI squad against Tigers

Eoin Morgan set to retire from international cricket

Serena returns at Wimbledon as Nadal eyes next leg of Slam