Fri, 31 March 2023
The Daily Ittefaq

Bangladesh bowls first in opening Test against Sri Lanka

Update : 15 May 2022, 11:00

Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne opted to bat first after winning the toss in the first of two-match Test series against Bangladesh at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium here today.

Choosing to bat first was a predictable decision given the wicket looked pretty flat, reports BSS.
Bangladesh however came to the match, dropping fast bowler Ebadot Hossain, who led their historical victory against New Zealand earlier this year.

But the home side was boosted by the return of ace allrounder Shakib Al Hasan who missed the two series in New Zealand South Africa.

The Tigers also included Nayeem Hasan, an offspinner who played his last Test against West Indies 15 months ago. Nayeem will form a three-pronged spin attack with left-arm spinner duo Taijul Islam and Shakib Al Hasan.

Experienced batter Dinesh Chandimal is back to the Lankan side after missing the series against India in which Sri Lanka tasted a 2-0 defeat.

They left out left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrema who was one of their most successful bowlers in India series, taking seven wickets in the only game he played. Spinning allrounder Ramesh Mendis was chosen ahead of him.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mominul Haque (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Ramesh Mendis, Lasith Embuldeniya, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando.

More on this topic

More on this topic