Fri, 31 March 2023
The Daily Ittefaq

South Africa beat India by 7 wickets

Update : 10 Jun 2022, 08:13

David Miller and and Rassie van der Dussen's skills helped South Africa win another match in India in the first T20I at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi on Thursday. 

South Africa captain Temba Bavuma won the toss and elected to bowl against India in the first T20I of five-match series. India, who are chasing a massive record of most consecutive wins in T20Is, decided not to give any debut cap in the opening T20I as Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh are put on the sidelines. Dinesh Karthik gets a place in the XI after almost three years.

Miller, Player of the Match, smashed an unbeaten 64 off 31 laced with four boundaries and five sixes, Dussen smashed 75 not-out off 45 deliveries to take the Proteas over the winning line.

Ishan Kishan scored 76 runs off 48 deliveries, lauded Miller and RvD for completing a record chase. Indian bowlers were wayward with their execution during crucial junctures of the match, especially in the death overs.

Axar Patel (1/40), Bhuveneshwar Kumar (1/43) and Harshal Patel (1/43) scalped one wicket apiece.

Gaikwad was dismissed on 23 (15). The show continued with Kishan dominating the proceedings alongside Shreyas Iyer, who scored 36 off 27 balls. Captain Rishabh Pant chipped in with a 16-ball 29, while Hardik Pandya returned unbeaten on 31 in just 12 balls.


More on this topic

More on this topic