Fri, 12 August 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

West Indies announce T20I, ODI squad against Tigers

Update : 30 Jun 2022, 11:26

The West Indies have announced squads for the upcoming T20Is and ODIs series against Bangladesh.

The selectors have dropped seven players who played in the last T20 series. Among them is former captain Kieron Pollard who bid farewell to cricket. Jason Holder is at rest. The other five dropped are Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell and Shai Hope.

And three have been left out in the ODIs. One has been taken anew. Nkrumah Bonner, Shermon Lewis and Hayden Walsh Jr. Although not in the T20 squad, Gudakesh Motie has taken a place in the ODIs. He was in the team for the Test series against Bangladesh. Motie only played in the Antigua Test. 

The three-match T20 series will be played on July 2. The remaining two matches of the series will be held on July 3 and 7. The two teams will play a three-match ODI series from July 10 after the T20. The remaining two ODIs of the series will be played on July 13 and 16 respectively. 

The host West Indies won the recently concluded two-match Test series 2-0. 

West Indies T20 squad: Nicholas Pooran (capt), Rovman Powell (vice-capt), Shamarh Brooks, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Dominic Drakes (reserve player).

West Indies ODI team: Nicholas Pooran (capt), Shai Hope (vice-capt), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Anderson Phillip, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd (reserve player).

More on this topic

Bangladesh out to avoid ignominious whitewash against Zimbabwe

Bangladesh out to avoid ignominious whitewash

Zimbabwe beats Bangladesh in ODI series after 9 years

Naim, Ebadot added to Bangladesh ODI squad

More on this topic

Injured Liton likely to miss Asia Cup

Shakib, Mahmudullah in consideration to be T20 captain

A bittersweet day for Bangladesh in TT 

Zimbabwe clinch maiden T20I series win over Bangladesh