Sat, 13 August 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Bangladesh lose T20 series to West Indies

Update : 08 Jul 2022, 22:54

Despite a slightly improved performance in batting, Bangladesh tasted a five-wicket defeat to West Indies in the third and final T20 International on Thursday and conceded the series 2-0 at Guyana.
The first match ended in a no result due to persistent rain while West Indies claimed a seven-wicket win in the second game.
Captain Nicholas Pooran led the charge in the final game with a magical 39 ball-74 not, studded with five fours and as many sixes as West Indies overhauled Bangladesh's 163-5 with utmost ease, reaching 169-5 in just 18.2 overs.
Pooran's knock was well complemented by opener Kyle Mayers' 55 off 38 which was designed by two fours and five sixes.
Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah Riyad elected to bat first and his side proved the decision right, having made a good start. Liton Das and Anamul Haque Bijoy scored 35 runs in 4.3 overs but Bangladesh were pushed to the back foot losing two wickets in just six balls.
Odean Smith removed Bijoy for 11 while Romario Shepherd got rid of Shakib for 5, to leave Bangladesh at 42-2.
Liton and Afif Hossain then shared a 57-run partnership to stabilize the things but when it mattered to go after the West Indies bowler, the former fell in well trap of spinner Hayden Walsh.
Liton hit three fours and two sixes for his 49 off 41 before Walsh had him caught by Akeal Husein.
Afif completed his third half-century and got out in the next ball, after misunderstanding with Nurul Hasan Sohan.
He smacked two fours and as many sixes for his 50 off 38. Beforehand, captain Mahmudullah Riyad failed to convert his another good start, being out on 22.
Hayden Walsh took 2-25 for West Indies while Odean Smith and Romario Shepherd picked up one wicket apiece.
Left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed gave Bangladesh a good start, dismissing Brandon King in the first over. Bangladesh then sensed a chance to keep them aloft when Mahedi Hasan took the wicket of Shamarh Brooks (12) and Shakib trapped Odean Smith leg-before for 2, leaving West Indies for 43-3 just after the first powerplay.
But that was not to be as captain Pooran and Mayers came up with six-hitting spree to share 85 off just 48 balls for the fourth wicket stand to dash Bangladesh's hope.
Nasum came up in his second spell to take the wicket of Mayers but Pooran serenely drove the side to victory.
Nasum ended with two wickets but conceded whopping 44 runs for four overs. Mahedi, Shakib and Afif claimed one wicket each.
Bangladesh now will play a three-match ODI series against West Indies, starting on July 10. Before the T20 series, they were whitewashed in a two-match Test series.

More on this topic

Ritu sets national record in high jump 

Pakistan captain Babar rules out Malik return for T20 World Cup

Chakabva to lead Zimbabwe in India ODI series

Bangladesh out to avoid ignominious whitewash against Zimbabwe

More on this topic

Bangladesh out to avoid ignominious whitewash

Zimbabwe beats Bangladesh in ODI series after 9 years

Naim, Ebadot added to Bangladesh ODI squad

Injured Liton likely to miss Asia Cup