Thu, 01 December 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Ireland win toss, bat against Sri Lanka at T20 World Cup

Update : 23 Oct 2022, 10:41

Ireland skipper Andrew Balbirnie won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka as the two teams began their Super 12 journey at the Twenty20 World Cup on Sunday.

The Irish team comes into the second round with a giant-killing reputation after they knocked out two-time champions West Indies last week at the same venue in Hobart.

They have retained their winning team, which hammered the West Indies by nine wickets in round one.

Sri Lanka, which won the Asia Cup T20 tournament last month, made the Super 12 after a tough first round where they were stunned by Namibia in the tournament opener.

Batsman Ashen Bandara has been added to the team in place of Pathum Nissanka, who misses out due to a groin injury.


Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (capt), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Simi Singh, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Ashen Bandara, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Lahiru Kumara

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK), Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

TV Umpire: Nitin Menon (IND)

Match Referee: David Boon (AUS)

More on this topic

More on this topic