Sat, 28 January 2023
The Daily Ittefaq

BKSP emerge champions in Youth Hockey

Update : 28 Dec 2022, 10:32

Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Prothistan emerged champions in the Al-Arafah Islami Bank 27th National Youth Hockey competition beating Rajshahi district by 6-2 goals in the final match held on December 27 at Maulana Bhasani National Hockey Stadium, Dhaka.

In the final, Rokibul scored hat-trick with three goals and Saddam supported him with two goals while Sajedur Rahman netted the lone goal for BKSP, all came from field goals, reports BSS.

While Abdul Al Nahid and Zahid Hossain netted one goal apiece converting penalty corners for Rajshahi district.

Bangladesh Hockey Federation's (BHF) president and Chief of Air Staff Shaikh Abdul Hannan was the chief guest in the finaland distributed the prizes.

Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited's acting managing director SM Jafar was present there as the special guest.

Champions BKSP and runners-up Rajshahi district got Taka 2,00,000 (Taka Two lacs) and Taka 1,50,000 (Taka one lac one fifty thousand) respectively as prize money.

Besides, third place finishers Dinajpur district got Taka 1,00,000 (Taka one lac) as prize prizes.

Rokibul Hasan Rocky of BKSP was adjudged the best player of the competition, Saddam Hoosain of the same team emerged as the highest scorer (twelve goals) Mohammad Sakib of Dinajpur district was named the best goal keeper of the meet, All received cash prize of Taka 10,000 (ten thousand).

The group phase matches of the competition, which began on September 29 last, was held at nine venues across the country with the participation of 57 district teams.

After the group phase, the final round held at nine venues with the participation of eighteen teams.

Earlier, on December 20 last, Dinajpur district finished third in the competition defeating Natore district by 5-0 goals in the place-deciding match.

More on this topic

More on this topic