Thu, 30 March 2023
The Daily Ittefaq

Comilla ace tricky chase to confirm BPL final

Update : 13 Feb 2023, 08:35

Comilla Victorians chased down a small target on a tricky pitch to beat Sylhet Strikers by four wickets in the first Qualifier and confirmed the final of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) at the first attempt at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on February 12.

After being asked to bat first, Sylhet batters came up with shaky batting show to be bowled out for 125 in 17.1 overs but aided by tricky pitch, they made sure it won't be a cake-walk for the Comilla Victorians, which won the title twice in the last three seasons of BPL, reports BSS.

Mosaddek Hossain however remained calm under pressure to hit a run-a-ball-27 not while Andre Russell accompanied him with his natural aggressive batting as Comilla cantered to the victory with 130-6 in 16.4 overs and extended their winning streak to 10.

Comilla lost the first three matches in a row and thereafter they forgot how to loss a match.

Russell hit two sixes, last of which sailed over mid-wicket to bring up the victory as he was not out on 15 off 10.

Sylhet Strikers however will get the second chance to confirm the final as they will take on Rangpur Riders, which earlier on the day, beat Fortune Barishal by four wickets in the Eliminator Game.

Comilla overall won three BPL titles, including two in the last three seasons. One more trophy will make them the most successful teams solely in the BPL history. Dhaka franchise under the name of Dhaka Gladiators and Dhaka Dynamites also won the title three times.

Comilla looked to overhaul the little target with ease as Sunil Narine, coming as opener, hit the bowlers at will. Liton Das meanwhile failed to carry his good form in this match, being out on 7.

But Narine was dismissed after successfully fulfilling the responsibility he was given. The West Indies recruit, who also had an envious bowling figure of 3.1-0-8-1, struck 39 off 18 with three fours and sixes.

The rot indeed began with his dismissal. After he was removed by spinner Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Johnson Charles was trapped run out for 7 while captain Imrul Kayes continued his miserable tournament, being out on 13.
The side was left 73-4 in 10.1 overs. Still it was Comilla's game as Moeen Ali and Mosaddek Hossain played with serenity. However when Moeen was dismissed by Rubel Hossain for 13 ball-21, Sylhet had a glimmer of hope. It could have been well materialized had Mushfiqur Rahim not dropped Russell when he was on just 1.

The drop proved costly as Russell hastened the victory with two sixes in quick space to confirm the victory. Rubel Hossain was the most successful bowler for Sylhet with 3-33.

Sylhet made a horrible start and were reduced to 16-3, losing the likes of Shafiqullah Gaffari, Towhid Hridoy and Zakir Hasan in the space of just 11 balls.
Mashrafe moved him up in the batting order, injecting some spark. He and Najmul Hossain Shanto shared 56-run for the fifth wicket stand, giving Sylhet a platform of good total.

But Comilla struck back at a moment when it mattered most. Andre Russell Got the better of Mashrafe after he scored 26 off 17 with two fours and as many sixes and then Tanvir Islam rattled the stump of Shanto who made team high 38 off 29.

Their dismissals in the space of seven balls made it sure Sylhet would not post a total that could challenge Comilla.

Tanvir, Russell and Mustafizur Rahman shared the spoil with two wickets apiece.

More on this topic

More on this topic