Sat, 10 June 2023
The Daily Ittefaq

Shakib, Liton in Bangladesh squad for Ireland Test

Update : 02 Apr 2023, 10:25

Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das were kept in 14-member squad for the one-off Test against Ireland, slated to start on Tuesday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

There was speculation that the duo will be given NOC to play the Indian Premier League (IPL). Both of the players are the part of Kolkata Knight Riders, reports BSS.

But the announcement of the team on April 1 confirmed that they would have to join KKR after the Test match. Shakib is the captain of the Test squad and Liton is his deputy in this format.

Pacer Mustafizur Rahman had already joined Delhi Capitals today to play IPL. Mustafizur in fact was not in the red-ball contract with Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) and so he was available to play IPL from the beginning.

Even though there were speculations, BCB president Nazmul Hassan Papon earlier made it clear that the duo won't be available from the beginning of IPL due to their national job.

He also said that the IPL franchisees are aware of the departure date of Liton and Shakib.

Meanwhile, senior player Tamim Iqbal is back to the Test squad after missing the last Test series against India at home. Axe however was fallen on batter Yasir Ali Chowdhury, wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan Sohan, pacer Rejaur Rahman Raja and left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed.

Zakir Hasan who scored a century on his debut Test against India failed to make the cut due to his injury.

Left-hand opener Shadman Islam replaced Zakir, making him available in the Test fold after one year.

Bangladesh won the three-match ODI series 2-0 and T20 International series 2-1.


Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Litton Kumer Das (Vice Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque Showrab, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy.

More on this topic

More on this topic