Fri, 02 June 2023
The Daily Ittefaq

New look Tigresses off to Sri Lanka

Update : 26 Apr 2023, 08:18

A new look Bangladesh women's team has left the country on April 25 for Sri Lanka to play their first ever bilateral series against the hosts.

Bangladesh will play three ODIs, which are the part of ICC Women's Championship and as many T20 Internationals in the tour, reports BSS.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) opted to pick a young side for the tour as they want to prepare some players for different positions. Therefore they rested some players including the seniors like Salma Khatun and Rumana Ahmed.

"We have taken some emerging cricketers, those who did well in the Under-19 World Cup recently. We have rested a few senior cricketers. We have a lot of cricket this year at home and abroad. Fitness will be a big issue in Sri Lanka. We have taken all this into account when selecting this squad," Women's team selector Monjurul Islam said.

While Salma didn't make any comment, Rumana lashed at out BCB, saying that the board dropped her in the guise of rest. She also went on to saying that the board was reluctant to give senior players some respect.

However, the BCB would summon her for such comment, said women's wing chairman Shafiul Islam Chowdhury Nadel.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh so far played only one ODI against the Lankans that too in World Cup qualifiers in 2017 at Colombo. Bangladesh lost that game which was hit hard by rain.

The Tigresses played nine T20 Internationals against the Sri Lanka and won only two while losing seven matches.

The three-match ODI series starts in April 29 and the next two matches are scheduled at May 2 and 4. All of the matches in ODI series will be held in Colombo P Sara Oval.

The three T20 matches which will be held at Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) ground are scheduled at May 9, 11 and 12.

Both Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have so far amassed two points each with Sri Lanka holding the eighth spot after six matches. Bangladesh are seventh after three matches in the Women's Championship points table after getting two points from a abandoned match in New Zealand.

Bangladesh squad:
Nigar Sultana Joty (capt), Fargana Hoque Pinky, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Murshida Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Sanjida Akther Maghla, Sobhana Mostary, Lata Mondal, Shorna Akter, Nahida Akter, Fariha Islam Trisna, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas, Rabeya Khan, Sultana Khatun

More on this topic

More on this topic