Mon, 26 February 2024
The Daily Ittefaq

Trinomool BNP names candidates for 230 seats including 5 ex-MPs

Update : 29 Nov 2023, 21:47

Trinomool Bangladesh National Party (BNP) has announced names of its candidates including five former lawmakers for 230 constituencies out of total 300 in the 12th Jatiya Sangsad election slated for January 7.

The party's secretary general Taimur Alam Khandaker announced the names in a press conference at its central office in the capital's Paltan area this evening.

Trinomool chairman Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury and executive chairman Antara Selima Huda, daughter of veteran politician late Barrister Nazmul Huda, were present.

Former lawmakers among the 230 candidates are MM Shahin for Moulvibazar-2, MA Awal for Lakshmipur-1, HM Golam Reza for Satkhira-4, Nuruddin Ahmed for Jhenaidah-2 and Abdul Gani for Meherpur-2 constituencies.

Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury has been nominated for Sylhet-6 (Beanibazar-Golapganj), Antara Huda for Munshiganj-1 and Taimur Alam for Narayanganj-1 (Roopganj).

Newly floated Pragatishil Ganatantrik Forum candidates will contest the national polls from alliance with Trinomool BNP.

Forum's chairman Najim Uddin got nomination from the alliance for Chattogram-5 constituency and its general secretary Azim Uddin for Feni-3 seat.

Pragatishil Ganatantrik Forum is formed under the leadership of Chattogram North District BNP former vice-president and Chattogram University Central Students Union (CUCSU) former vice-president (VP) Nijam Uddin and CUCSU former general secretary (GS) MA Awal. The party is yet to get registered at the Election Commission so that it will take part in the polls in alliance with Trinomool BNP.

 A political alliance of 15-party named Pragatishil Islami Jote has also formed electoral alliance with Trinomool BNP.

The alliance convener former lawmaker MA Awal and member secretary Nurul Islam Khan have got Trinomool's ticket for Lakshmipur-1 and Mymensingh-2 seats.

BNP leader Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui's son Chowdhury Irad Ahmed Siddiqui got nomination from Gazipur-1.

Famous Brahmanbaria lawmaker Ukil Abdus Sattar's son Mainul Hasan got Trinomool's ticket for Brahmanbaria-1 seat.

Names of candidates for rest of the parliamentary seats will be announced later.

The full list of nominated candidates from Trinomool BNP is given below.

More on this topic

More on this topic