Sun, 03 March 2024
The Daily Ittefaq

Newly elected MPs are sworn in by Speaker

Update : 10 Jan 2024, 20:42

Awami League lawmakers and independent candidates elected on 7 January polls have taken their oath as members of the parliament on Wednesday.

The 11th Jatiya Sangsad Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oaths. The ceremony began around 11am in the Oath Room of the Parliament Complex, after Awami League President and also Prime Minister, Sheikh Hasina, and Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, arrived at the parliament building.

Earlier, Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury took oath as an MP.

According to Article 148 (2A) of the constitution, the newly elected MPs are obligated to take the oath within three days of election results being published in an official gazette, otherwise their memberships will be cancelled.

A gazette notification has been issued on Tuesday on the results of the 12th National Elections with details of 298 newly elected members of Parliament.

In the January 7 national election, the Awami League won an absolute majority. The Awami League, led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, secured 222 seats, while the independent candidates won in 62 constituencies.

The main opposition Jatiya Party won only 11 seats, while the Workers Party, Jasad and Bangladesh Kalyan Party bagged one seat each.

The election to Naogaon-2 was postponed after the death of an independent candidate. It has been rescheduled for February 12. Meanwhile, the EC also halted results in Mymensingh-3 constituency over clashes.

More on this topic

More on this topic