Tue, 28 June 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Shakib, Mushfiq, Mustafiz named in ICC Men's ODI team of the year 

Update : 20 Jan 2022, 15:15

On Wednesday, three Bangladesh cricketers have been included to the ICC Men's ODI Team of the Year. Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, and Mustafizur Rahman are among those named by the ICC. 

In 2021, Shakib continued to impress for Bangladesh in the 50-over format. He scored 277 runs at an average of 39.57 in nine matches, including two half-centuries. Shakib also took 17 wickets at an average of 17.52 runs per over.
In his return to international cricket, he was at his best in a home series against the West Indies, for which he was named Player of the Series.

Mushfiqur, too, remained a valuable contribution to Bangladesh's cause in 2021. He scored 407 runs at an average of 58.14 in nine matches, including one century. Mushfiqur, who is usually active at the crease, raced hard to get his runs while also playing some beautiful shots in between.

With his superb variations and change of speed, Mustafizur again controlled the roost in ODI cricket in 2021. He took 18 wickets in 10 matches at an average of 21.55, both in the middle and at the end. He also made it difficult for batters to get away, as seen by his 5.03 ERA.

Paul Stirling, Janneman Malan, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Rassie van der Dussen, Wanindu Hasaranga, Simi Singh, and Dushmantha Chameera are the other players of the team. 


More on this topic

Serena returns at Wimbledon as Nadal eyes next leg of Slam

Nadal says pain-free for first time in 'year and half'

Bangladesh reach 77-2 at lunch

Fifa increases squads to 26 players for 2022 World Cup

More on this topic

Lisa Stalker elected president of the Federation of International Cricketers’ Association

Sheikh Russel KC earn fourth win in BPL

South Korea to bid to host Asian Cup

Bangladesh staring at defeat against West Indies inside 3 days