Tue, 21 May 2024
The Daily Ittefaq

2024 Pulitzer Prizes announced: See full list of winners, nominees

Update : 07 May 2024, 12:13

The Pulitzer Prize Board announced winners and nominated finalists of the 108th Pulitzer Prize Monday.

Marjorie Miller, Administrator of the Pulitzer Prizes and the Vice President and Global Enterprise Editor at The Associated Press, announced the winners and finalists, which were awarded and designated on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board at Columbia University, according to a press release by the institution.

"The Pulitzer Prizes are more than journalism's esteemed honor," said Neil Brown, co-chair of the Pulitzer Prize Board. "They are a commitment to the highest standards of fairness, honesty and storytelling for those who pursue facts and reveal uncomfortable truths."

The Pulitzer Prize Board, on Thursday, also said it "recognizes the tireless efforts of student journalists across our nation’s college campuses, who are covering protests and unrest in the face of great personal and academic risk."

2024 Pulitzer Prize winners

Miller announced the 2024 Pulitzer Prize winners and nominated finalists via livestream on Monday.

"This year there was remarkable coverage of the Hamas attack on Israel and two wars in Gaza and Ukraine," Miller said before announcing winners in the field of Journalism. "There were tragic natural disasters in Hawaii and Turkey."

"The entries included many instances of workplace harm to employees, consumers and soldiers, hate crimes and criminal justice. Corruption and impunity and migration remained persistent themes in American life. And globally we saw stories on the proliferation of undemocratic uses of technology, along with the growing presence of AI in our lives."

Winners were awarded under the following categories in the field of journalism.

Breaking news reporting

Staff of the Honolulu Civil Beat
Staff of Los Angeles Times
Winner: Staff of Lookout Santa Cruz, California

Investigative Reporting

Staff of Bloomberg
Winner: Hannah Dreier of The New York Times
Casey Ross and Rob Herman of STAT

Public service

KFF Health News and Cox Media Group
Winner: ProPublica, for the work of Joshua Kaplan, Justin Elliot, Brett Murphy, Alex Mierjeski and Kirsten Berg
The Washington Post

Explanatory reporting

Staff of Bloomberg
Winner: Sarah Stillman of The New Yorker
Staff of The Texas Tribune, ProPublica and FRONTLINE

Local reporting

Winner: Sarah Conway of City Bureau and Trina Reynolds-Tyler of the Invisible Institute
Jerry Mitchell, Ilyssa Daly, Brian Howey and Nate Rosenfield of Mississippi Today and The New York Times
Staff of The Villages Daily Sun

National reporting

Bianca Vázquez Toness and Sharon Lurye of the Associated Press
Dave Phillips of The New York Times

International reporting

Winner: Staff of The New York Times
Julie Turkewitz and Federico Rios of The New York Times
Staff of The Washington Post

Feature writing

Keri Blakinger of The Marshall Project, co-published with The New York Times Magazine
Winner: Katie Engelhart, contributing writer, The New York Times
Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic

Winner: Staff of Reuters
Winner: Staff of The Washington Post


Brian Lyman of the Alabama Reflector
Jay Caspian Kang of The New Yorker
Winner: Vladimir Kara-Murza, contributor, The Washington Post


Zadie Smith, contributor, The New York Review of Books
Vinson Cunningham of The New Yorker
Winner: Justin Chang of the Los Angeles Times

Editorial writing

Isadora Rangel of the Miami Herald
Brandon McGinley and Rebecca Spiess of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Winner: David E. Hoffman of The Washington Post

Illustrated reporting and commentary

Clay Bennett of the Chattanooga Times Free Press
Winner: Medar de la Cruz, contributor, The New Yorker
Angie Wang, contributor, The New Yorker
Claire Healy, Nicole Dungca and Ren Galeno, contributor, of The Washington Post

Breaking news photography

Adem Altan of Agence France Presse
Nicole S. Hester of The Tennessean
Winner: Photography Staff of Reuters

Feature photography

Hannah Reyes Morales, contributor, The New York Times
Nanna Heitman, contributor, The New York Times
Photography Staff of Associated Press

Audio reporting

Winner: Staff of the Invisible Institute, Chicago and USG Audio, California
Dan Slepian and Preeti Varathan, contributor, of NBC News
Lauran Chooljian, Alison Macadam, Jason Moon, Daniel Barrick and Katie Colaneri of New Hampshire Public Radio


"Here There Are Blueberries" by Moises Kaufman and Amanda Gronich
Winner: "Primary Trust" by Eboni Booth
"Public Obscenities" by Shayok Misha Chowdhury


Winner: "No Right to an Honest Living: The Struggles of Boston’s Black Workers in the Civil War Era" by Jacqueline Jones (Basic Books)
"Continental Reckoning: The American West in the Age of Expansion" by Elliot West (University of Nebraska Press)
"American Anarchy: The Epic Struggle between Immigrant Radicals and the US Government at the Dawn of the Twentieth Century" by Michael Willrich (Basic Books)


"Larry McMurtry: A Life" by Tracy Daughtery
Winner: "King: A Life" by Jonathan Eig
Winner: "Master Slave Husband Wife: An Epic Journey from Slavery to Freedom" by Ilyon Woo

Memoir or Autobiography

Winner: "Liliana's Invincible Summer: A Sister's Search for Justice" by Cristina Rivera Garza
"The Country of the Blind: A Memoir at the End of Sight" by Andrew Leland
"The Best Minds: A Story of Friendship, Madness and the Tragedy of Good Intentions" by Jonathen Rosen

Winner: Staff of the Invisible Institute, Chicago and USG Audio, California
Dan Slepian and Preeti Varathan, contributor, of NBC News
Lauran Chooljian, Alison Macadam, Jason Moon, Daniel Barrick and Katie Colaneri of New Hampshire Public Radio


"To 2040" by Jorie Graham
"Information Desk: An Epic" by Robyn Schiff
Winner: "Tripas: Poems" by Brandom Som

General Nonfiction

"Fire Weather: A True Story From a Hotter World" by John Vaillant
Winner: "A Day in the Life of Abed Salama: Anatomy of a Jerusalem Tragedy" by Nathan Thrall
"Cobalt Red: How the Blood of the Congo Powers Our Lives" by Sidharth


"Double Concerto for esperanza spalding, Claire Chase and large orchestra by Felipe Lara
Paper Pianos by Mary
Winner: Adagio (for Wadada Leo Smith) by Tyshawn Sorey


Winner: "Night Watch" by Jayne Anne Phillips
"Wednesday's Child" by Yiyun Li
"Same Bed Different Dreams" by Ed Park

Special Citation

Greg Tate (1967 - 2021)
Journalists covering Gaza

More on this topic

More on this topic