Sat, 02 July 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Search Committee meeting to select 20 persons for CEC, ECs

Update : 19 Feb 2022, 15:05

The Election Commission search committee made a list of 20 people from a list of 322 nominees for the posts of chief election commissioner and other election commissioners on Saturday.

The committee headed by Supreme Court Justice M Obaydul Hassan made the list at a meeting held at Supreme Court Judges Lounge, Cabinet Division’s coordination and reforms secretary Md Shamsul Arefin told reporters following the meeting.

He said that the committee would hold another meeting on Sunday with an aim to make the list of 10 people.

The Cabinet Division made public a list of 322 individuals proposed by different political parties, organisations and individuals for the appointment of the next chief election commissioner and other election commissioners on February 14 .

Former bureaucrats, retired judges and retired army officers dominated the list.

The president formed the six-member search committee headed by Justice Obaidul Hassan on February 5.

The other members of the committee are High Court judge Justice SM Kuddus Zaman, former election commissioner Muhammed Sohul Hossain, writer Anowara Syed Haque, comptroller and auditor general of Bangladesh Mohammad Muslim Chowdhury and Bangladesh Public Service Commission chair Mohammed Sohrab Hossain.







More on this topic

Huge rush of people on 2nd day to get train tickets

Eid-ul-Azha on July 10

Special cattle train on Chapainawabganj-Dhaka route

Momen proposes UK for resettling 1 lakh Rohingyas

More on this topic

Padma Bridge opens to traffic

PM Hasina inaugurates Padma Bridge

PM to open Padma Bridge today

Unicef: Bangladesh floods leave 3.5 million children needing clean water