Thu, 07 July 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

PM distributes Ekushey Padak-2022

Update : 20 Feb 2022, 12:41

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today distributed "Ekushey Padak-2022" among 24 eminent persons for their outstanding contribution to the society and the country.

The premier virtually joined the Padak (Medal) distribution ceremony at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the city from her official residence Ganabhaban here this morning, reports BSS.

Ministry of Cultural Affairs organised the function on the occasion of the Amar Ekushey and the International Mother Language Day.
On behalf of the prime minster, Liberation War Affairs Minister A K M Mozammel Haque, MP handed over the Ekushey Padak, the second highest civilian award in the country, to the recipients.

With State Minister for Cultural Affairs K M Khalid, MP, in the chair, Secretary of the ministry Md. Abul Monsur delivered the welcome address.

Cabinet Secretary Khandker Anwarul Islam conducted the award-giving ceremony and read out the citations of the recipients.
The Ekushey Padak was introduced in the memory of the martyrs of the Language Movement in 1952.

The award is given to individuals and organizations in recognition of contributions to a number of fields including the War of Liberation, literature, music, education, journalism, poverty reduction, research, and visual arts.

The nation is set to observe the "Amar Ekushey and the International Mother Language Day" tomorrow to pay glowing tributes to the Language Movement martyrs who made supreme sacrifice for the cause of the mother language on February 21 in 1952.

Earlier on February 3, the government announced the names of 24 eminent persons for the "Ekushey Padak-2022" for their outstanding contributions to their respective fields.

This year, two persons got the padak in the Language Movement category, four in the Liberation War, seven in Shilpakala (art, music and dance), two in Social Service, two in Language and Literature, four in Research and one each in Journalism, Science and Technology, and education.

Mostafa M A Matin (posthumous) and Mirza Tofazzal Hossain Mukul (posthumous) received the padak in the field of Language Movement.

Valiant freedom fighter Alhaj Principal Md Matiur Rahman, Syed Moazzem Ali (posthumous), QABM Rahman and Amzad Ali Khandaker got the padak in Liberation War category.

Jinat Barkatullah received the padak for dance while Nazrul Islam Babu (posthumous), Iqbal Ahmed and Mahmudur Rahman Benu for music, and Khaled Mahmud Khan (posthumous), Afzal Hossain and Masum Aziz for acting.

MA Malek got the padak for journalism while Md Anawar Hossain in science and technology and Professor Dr Gautam Buddha Das in education.

Besides, SM Abraham Lincoln and Sangharaj Dr Gyanshree Mahathero got the padak in the social service category. Poet Kamal Chowdhury and Jharna Das Purkayastha received the padak in language and literature category.

On the other hand, Dr Md Abdus Sattar Mandal, Dr Md Enamul Haque (team leader), Dr Shahanaz Sultana (team) and Dr Jannatul Ferdous (team) got the padak in research category.

More on this topic

Govt working to protect people’s voting rights: PM

Cow rawhide price fixed at Tk47-52/sq ft in Dhaka

Sylhet flood situation improves as rivers recede

Make sure that none suffers: PM asks partymen

More on this topic

PM in selfie with Joy, Putul on Padma Bridge

Fire in Meghna Economic Zone, 13 units working

'Hold free and fair election,' OECD countries urge Bangladesh

AL govt wants to fulfill electoral pledges: PM