Wed, 06 July 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Chattogram Port Authority Bill, 2022 passes in Parliament

Update : 05 Apr 2022, 15:19

Chattogram Port Authority Bill, 2022 was passed in parliament on Tuesday with keeping provision of maximum three years rigorous imprisonment and an addition of Taka 3 lakh fine for creating pollution in the port area.

State Minister for Shipping Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury moved the bill in the House which was unanimously passed by voice votes with Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair, reports BSS.

Placing the bill, the state minister said the proposed law will be enacted through annulling the Chittagong Port Authority Ordinance, 1976.

To bring discipline in the port, the state minister said “We have taken some sorts of steps to bring discipline in the port area ....steps have been taken to conduct Shipping census.”

For creating pollution, only Taka one lakh was maximum penalty is now being prevailed, but the proposed law has been included the fresh punishment in line with environment protection law, the state minster argued in the parliament.

Regarding agreement with India on using port, he admitted an agreement has been signed with India for using Haldia port, saying that “It[the agreement] is now underway at the secretary level and the government is conscious enough on protecting the interest of the country.”

Earlier on November 15, 2021, Chattogram Port Authority Bill, 2021 was placed in the parliament.

The bill was later sent to the parliamentary standing committee on the Ministry of Shipping, for further scrutiny and submitting a report within 50 days.

More on this topic

Govt working to protect people’s voting rights: PM

Cow rawhide price fixed at Tk47-52/sq ft in Dhaka

Sylhet flood situation improves as rivers recede

Make sure that none suffers: PM asks partymen

More on this topic

PM in selfie with Joy, Putul on Padma Bridge

Fire in Meghna Economic Zone, 13 units working

'Hold free and fair election,' OECD countries urge Bangladesh

AL govt wants to fulfill electoral pledges: PM