Sat, 28 January 2023
The Daily Ittefaq

7 BNP MPs submit resignation to JS Speaker 

Update : 11 Dec 2022, 13:13

All seven BNP members of the parliament (MPs) submitted their resignation to Speaker of the Parliament Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury today as part of their anti-government movement with a 10-point demand that includes dissolution of parliament.

The BNP MPs submitted their resignation letters at 12:20pm, Mohammad Siraj, MP of Bogura-6, told UNB.

Earlier, BNP’s international affairs secretary Rumeen Farhana announced the decision from the party’s Golapbagh rally on Saturday.

The MPs who resigned are: Md. Zahidur Rahman, Thakurgaon-3; Md. Mosharof  Hosen, Bogura-4; Gulam Mohammad Siraj, Bogura-6; Md. Aminul Islam, Chapainawabganj-2; Md. Harunur Rashid, Chapainawabganj-3; Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan, Brahmanbaria-2; and Rumeen Farhana, from Women’s Reserved Seats.

Read more: BNP activists, locals complain of internet service disruption in and around Golapbagh rally venue

Among them, Md. Harunur Rashid of Chapainawabganj-3, who is now in Australia and the ailing MP of Brahmanbaria-2 Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan submitted their resignations through BNP whip Rumeen Farhana.

The MPs sent their resignation through an e-mail on Saturday.

BNP on Saturday unveiled a 10-point charter of demands from Golapbagh rally aimed at unseating the government through a simultaneous movement.

More on this topic

More on this topic