Mon, 04 July 2022
The Daily Ittefaq

Ivy wins again as mayor of NCC

Update : 17 Jan 2022, 11:15

Awami League (AL) backed candidate Dr Selina Hayat Ivy has been re-elected mayor of the Narayanganj City Corporation (NCC) unofficially for third consecutive term beating independent candidate Taimur Alam Khandakar.

According to the unofficial results, Ivy with the symbol of "Boat" bagged 1,59,397 votes while her rival candidate Taimur with "elephant " got 92,562 votes.

Returning Officer Mahfuza Akter announced the results declared unofficially  late night at a temporary office set up in front of the Narayanganj Deputy Commissioner's Office.

Earlier, the voting began at 8:00am and continued till 4pm without any break while the people were seen exercising their franchise through the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Awami League mayoral candidate Selina Hayat  cast  her vote at Deobhogh Shishubagh School polling centre at about 10:45am while her main rival independent candidate Taimur Alam Khandakar voted at the Narayanganj Islamia Kamil Madrasa Centre in Masdair at about 8:30am.

Earlier, the Election Commission (EC) announced the poll schedule for of the NCC on November 30 while a total of seven candidates vied for mayoral post.

The mayoral candidates are- Dr. Selina Hayat Ivy (boat) of Bangladesh Awami League, ABM Sirajul Mamun (Wall Clock) of Khilafat Majlis, Taimur Alam Khandaker (Elephant) as Independent Candidate, Maulana Mashum Billah (hand fan) of Islamic Movement of Bangladesh, Jasim Uddin (banyan tree) of Bangladesh Khelafat Abdolan, Rashed Ferdous (wrist watch) of Bangladesh Welfare Party and independent candidate Kamrul Islam (horse).

Besides, 148 candidates contested in the general wards and 34 in the reserved seats for women.

According to the EC, about 50 per cent  of the total 5.17 lakh voters exercised their rights franchise at 192 polling centres to elect the city mayor and councillors for 27 general wards and nine reserved seats  for women.

A total of 14  judicial magistrates were deployed to prevent any untoward situation, the election was held in a peaceful manner.

Besides, three tier security measures were also taken for the peaceful election while more than 5,000 members of the law enforcing  agencies were deployed to ensure security of the polling stations and outside of the centres.

Apart from this, there were 64 mobile teams of the police and Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) personnel were deployed in polling centres.

More on this topic

AL govt wants to fulfill electoral pledges: PM

‘Hasina: A Daughter's Tale’ to be screened in historical city Athens today

Sudhakar to replace Doraiswami as Indian envoy to Bangladesh

Huge rush of people on 2nd day to get train tickets

More on this topic

Eid-ul-Azha on July 10

Special cattle train on Chapainawabganj-Dhaka route

Momen proposes UK for resettling 1 lakh Rohingyas

Padma Bridge opens to traffic