Thu, 18 April 2024
The Daily Ittefaq

First phase of upazila polls on May 8

Update : 21 Mar 2024, 17:09

A total of 152 upazilas around the country will go to the polls in the first phase on May 8, announced the Election Commission (EC) today.

The EC decided the poll date and schedule in a meeting held at the Commission Bhaban with Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal in the chair, EC Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath told reporters.

According to the schedule, the last date for nomination paper submission is April 15. The nomination papers will be scrutinised  on April 17, and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 22, said Debnath.

Of the 152 upazilas, elections to 22 upazilas under 9 districts will be held through electronic voting machines (EVMs). The districts are Cox’s Bazar, Shariatpur, Chandpur, Jamalpur, Pabna, Jashore, Pirojpur, and Manikganj. Polling for the rest of the 130 upazilas will be held on ballot papers.

The upazila elections will take place in four phases. Elections in the second phase will be held on May 23, in the third phase on May 29, and in the fourth phase on June 5, Debnath said.

There are 492 upazilas in the country.  

More on this topic

More on this topic